Playstation Network Will Be Under Maintenance Today

Playstation Network

Get ready, as it’s time for the Playstation Network to be down for maintenance today.  After a rather large group of games hit the Playstation Store this week, Sony has announced that portions of the Store and PSN will be affected today.

During the maintenance time period, you can expect zero access to managing your account or the Playstation Store.  Online play may be affected as well, but if you have signed in within the past few days you should still be able to access the network to play multiplayer titles.

In order to continue bringing you the best online games experience, we will need to perform some routine maintenance on PSN beginning tomorrow morning (Thursday, August 23rd). This maintenance will start at approximately 9:00AM PDT (10:00AM MDT / 11:00AM CDT / 12:00 noon EDT) and last until around 4:00PM PDT (5:00PM MDT / 6:00PM CDT / 7:00PM EDT). Specifically during the first hour of this maintenance period, you may receive a maintenance notification when attempting to access PSN. The PlayStation Store and Account Management will not be available during the maintenance period but you WILL be able to access online play and apps provided that you have signed in to the Network at some point over the past few days. So please be sure to sign in now if you wish to access the Network during this maintenance window.

It’s a period of roughly 7 hours, but should be doing the work or school day for most individuals.  If you happen to have the day off and were looking to play multiplayer games, you may run into a few issues.

Are you having any issues logging in to the Playstation Network today?  Be sure to let us know what you think by leaving us a comment below, or discuss the Playstation Network in our forums.

When not writing for the site, you can find Dougie on Xbox Live & Playstation Network (Gamertag: AirUpThere06). He plays just about everything, but loves a good shooter with a great multiplayer experience.