Playstation Network Down for Maintenance Today

PSNetwork

If you’re looking to play quite a bit of multiplayer today on the Playstation Network, your plans have probably been derailed.  Earlier in the week we posted about the Playstation Network receiving maintenance today, and the PSN is officially down for the remainder of today.

If you happened to have signed in to the PSN within the past five days, you should still have some online functionality.  For those of you that haven’t signed in to the PSN within the past five days, expect little to no access to any of the Playstation Network features.

Here’s the official statement released from Sony regarding today’s maintenance.

In order to continue to deliver you the best online games experience, we will be performing maintenance on the network this Thursday, July 26th. This maintenance will start at approximately 8:00 am PDT (9:00am MDT / 10:00am CDT /11:00 am EDT) and end around 11:00pm PDT on Thursday, July 26th (1:00am MDT / 2:00am CDT / 3:00am EDT on Friday, July 27th).

During this maintenance period, you may receive a message that states “PlayStation Network is undergoing maintenance” when attempting to access the PlayStation Store or PlayStation Home. As long as you have signed in to PSN within 5 days prior to the start of maintenance (meaning: any time since July 21st), you WILL be able to play games online and enjoy apps such as Netflix, HULU Plus and Music Unlimited during this maintenance period. So if you haven’t signed in to PSN in the last few days, we suggest you do so before the maintenance period begins Thursday morning.

What games are you planning to play today since the Playstation Network is down? Kill some time and discuss your favorite Playstation 3 games in our forums!

When not writing for the site, you can find Dougie on Xbox Live & Playstation Network (Gamertag: AirUpThere06). He plays just about everything, but loves a good shooter with a great multiplayer experience.
  • Chris Hadwin

    was nigned in timed out a few hours ago. and now its not givin me any online functions