Playstation Network Down for Maintenance Today

PSNetwork

If you’ve turned on your Playstation 3 hoping to enjoy a little online action or check a few things on the Playstation Network, then you’ll be out of luck today.  For most of today, the Playstation Network will be down for maintenance.

Sony made the announcement on the Playstation Blog, detailing that the amount of time the network will be down.  The network will be down from approximately 9AM Eastern to 10PM Eastern.  The team at Sony will be doing “routine maintenance”, and you will not be able to access your typical Playstation Network features during this time.

 I’m here today to let you know that we will be performing routine scheduled maintenance on the network on Monday, April 16th, starting at approximately 6:00 am PDT / 9:00 am EDT. This maintenance will last roughly 13 hours, concluding around 7:00pm PDT / 10:00 pm EDT. During much of this time, users won’t be able to access the PlayStation Store, PlayStation Home, Account Management or play online. PSN enabled websites will not be able to service users, including this one.

What are you planning to do during today’s Playstation Network scheduled maintenance?  Are there any singleplayer games that you’re planning to finish?  Be sure to let us know what you think by leaving us a comment below, or discuss the Playstation Network in our forums.

When not writing for the site, you can find Dougie on Xbox Live & Playstation Network (Gamertag: AirUpThere06). He plays just about everything, but loves a good shooter with a great multiplayer experience.